VP’s Soca Gold 2016 features Bunji Garlin, Fay-Ann Lyons, Hypasounds, Machel Montano & more (@VPRecords)

00-Soca Gold 2016For 22 years strong, the VP Records Soca Gold compilation series has become the staple release to the genre, rounding up the most in-demand songs from this Caribbean carnival season. Highlights for Soca Gold 2016 include Teddyson John’s “Allez” (1M YouTube views),Hypasounds’ “How She Like It” (1M YT views) and Ricardo Drue’s “Professional” (500k YT views). The 16-track release-like its annual predecessors-maintains soca’s signature uptempo sound that is a continued influence on contemporary pop and electronic dance music.

Soca Gold includes soca ambassador Machel Montano’s “Better Than Them” feat Timayaand Peternsky’s “Non Stop” – two of the latest hits on the popular reggaeton flavored Jambe-An rhythm which spawned Charly Black’s chart-topper “Party Animal.”  In “Non Stop,” Peternsky declares, “let me take you to Trinidad and Tobago, we are the greatest land of calypso.” Soca Gold will take you on a sonic tour of the Caribbean carnival.

The CD release of Soca Gold 2016 is packaged with a 40-minute bonus DVD featuring exclusive LIVE performances from Trinidad & Tobago carnival and music videos that that provide an authentic carnival experience. The sensual imagery of the Soca Gold cover art is another hallmark of the series. Photographer Rayon Richards photographed cover model Noella Diaz, who both conveyed the beauty and colorful energy synonymous with Caribbean carnival, for this year’s edition. For a comprehensive look back on great moments in Soca Gold history, follow the VP Records Spotify playlist smarturl.it/BSGSpotify and visit https://www.facebook.com/socagold for more information.


1. Allez-Teddyson John

2. Plenty- Skinny Fabulous

3. How She Like It- Hypasounds

4. Better Than Them- Machel Montano & Timaya

5. Non Stop- Peternsky

6. Leh We Fete- Rikki Jai

7. Professional- Ricardo Drue

8. Carnival Today- Bunji Garlin

9. Hands In The Air- Fay-Ann Lyons

10. All Ah We- Peter Ram

11. Money Done- Patrice Roberts

12. For All Ah Dem- Problem Child

13. Heart Of Me- Edwin Yearwood & Giselle (The Wassi One)

14. Bum Bum- Bass AKA Trilo- G

15. Wid You- Statement

16. Spread out- Tony Prescott

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s