Studio One To Release Deluxe Edition Of The Gladiators’ “Presenting The Gladiators” On August 10

gladiatorsOut-of-print for over a decade, Studio One will release a deluxe edition of The Gladiators’ Presenting the Gladiators. Touting the original tracklist, the remastered set also features rare singles not featured on previous CDs or LPs and three never-before-released disco mixes from the Studio One vaults. Pre-order the collection HERE.
The Gladiators auditioned for the legendary soundman and founder of Studio One Coxsone Dodd in 1968 and out of those sessions came their seminal hit “Hello Carol”. Studio One released a remastered version of the original 2-track mix of “Hello Carol” from Presenting the Gladiators: Deluxe Edition on International Reggae Day. Listen to “Hello Carol” HERE.
Marking the 50th anniversary of The Gladiators and the group’s legacy as roots reggae pioneers, their influence and timeless sound is detailed in the liner notes of the deluxe edition written by world-renowned reggae expert and Heartbeat Records/Studio One personality Chris Wilson. This collection of songs was produced by Studio One founder and “Father of Jamaican Music” Coxsone Dodd, prior to his death in 2004.
Since 2016, Studio One has been partnered with Yep Roc Records to reissue albums from legendary artists such as The Wailers, The Skatalites, and Freddie McGregor, as well as entirely new compilations of rare and unreleased material from the vaults of Studio One and the House of Joy box set that chronicles the label’s unparalleled sixty-year history.


(Studio One)
1. Hello Carol (Original 2 Track Mix)
2. Rainy Night in Georgia (Original 2 Track Mix)
3. Easy Squeeze (Stereo Mix)
4. Love and Meditation (Stereo Mix)
5. On the Other Side (Stereo Mix)
6. Jah Jah Go Before Us (Stereo Mix)
7. Roots Natty (Original 2 Track Mix)
8. Peace Truce (aka Peace) (Stereo Mix)
9. My Thoughts (Mono Mix)
10. Downtown Rebel (Mono Mix)
11. Jah Almighty (Original 2 Track Mix)
12. Serious Thing (Take 2) (Original 2 Track Mix) – previously unreleased on LP
13. Serious Version (Original 2 Track Mix) – previously unreleased on LP
14. Jah Jah (Vers.) (Stereo Mix) – previously unreleased on LP
15. Culture (Original 2 Track Mix) – previously unreleased on LP
16. Rearrange (Disco Mix) – previously unreleased
17. Peace Truce (Disco Mix) – previously unreleased
18. Roots Natty/Natty Chalawa (Disco Mix) (feat. Lone Ranger) – previously unreleased

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s