Erykah Badu’s “Unfollow Me Tour” Will Be In Oakland On June 21 (@fatbellybella)

Erykah Badu‘s Unfollow Me Tour, which features hip-hop giant Yasiin Bey, will be at the Oakland Arena in California, on Wednesday, June 21st. Despite the fact that only Badu and Bey are advertised, they will have some extraordinary opening acts. Tickets are available via ticketmaster.

Donald Harrison Jr.’s Story

2022 NEA Jazz Master Big Chief Donald Harrison Jr. is a musician/composer dedicated to mastering every era of jazz, soul, and funk and composing orchestral classical music. He has been called a “One man music festival” because his performances cover the history of American music and show that is the basis for his innovations. According to geniuses Eddie Palmieri, Nicholas Payton, Carl Allen, and Mike Clark, he is a genius.

In 2021 Harrison received an Honorary Doctorate from Berklee College. He appeared as an actor in nine episodes of “Treme,” where director David Simon created two characters to portray how Harrison innovated music. He was an actor and musician in director Johnathon Demme’s film “Rachel Getting Married and Marvel’s “Luke Cage.”He played himself in Spike Lee’s historic HBO documentary “When The Levees Broke,” and Netflix’s documentary “I Got A Story To Tell,” about The Notorious BIG.

Harrison is the recognized Big Chief of Congo Square in Afro-New Orleans culture, where he keeps alive one of the root contributors cultures to Traditional jazz. Harrison was made a Chief in the Democratic Republic of Congo, Africa, and is the only major jazz artist who is Chief on two continents.

Harrison honed his craft by playing with Roy Haynes, Art Blakey, Eddie Palmieri, Dr. John, Lena Horne, Dr. Eddie Henderson, Miles Davis, McCoy Tyner, Dr. Lonnie Smith, Ron Carter, Billy Cobham, Chuck Loeb, The Headhunters, hip-hop greats Digable Planets, Guru’s Jazzmatazz, The Notorious BIG, The Chicago Symphony Orchestra, and over 200 jazz master innovators of every era and style.

He has also played with the master innovators of blues, funk, soul, hip-hop, classical, and New Orleans music. He has innovated three influential jazz styles. In 1979, at nineteen, Harrison brought a modern jazz twist to New Orlean’s second-line music. By the mid-80s, he created “Nouveau Swing,” a concept that blends classic jazz with hip-hop, funk, and soul music. In the ’90s, Harrison made smooth jazz hits and began exploring quantum music in 2000. He began composing and orchestrating classical music for symphonic orchestras in 2013. Harrison also mentored diverse artists Christian Scott, Johnathon Batiste, Esperanza Spaulding, Trombone Shorty, multiple Grammy-winning platinum hip-hop producer Deezle, and The Notorious Big. Jonathon Batiste say’s, “I consider Donald Harrison one of the greatest teachers of the last fifty years because he teaches all the music.”

Buddy Guy’s Farewell Tour Will Stop In Vienna, VA On June 11th (@TheRealBuddyGuy)

Americana Music Association Lifetime Achievement Award winner and Rock and Roll Hall of Famer, Buddy Guy, will be taking the blues to Wolf Trap on Sunday, June 11th. The living legend will be joined by two other notable blues performers: Samantha Fish and Robert Randolph Band.

All three acts will be at the Filene Center – 1551 Trap Road – in Vienna, Virginia, from 6pm until… Tickets are going for $38 USD.

Fantasia’s Memorial Day Weekend Shows With Special Guest Joe (@TasiasWord)

This Memorial Day Weekend, R&B star Fantasia will be doing back-to-back shows on the west coast alongside her special guest, Joe. The pair will perform on Friday, May 26th at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles, and Saturday, May 27th at the Toyota Arena in Ontario, California.

On Sunday, May 28th, they will be joined by Robin Thicke, Vivian Green, KEM, Stokley, and Kurtis Blow on the Stone Soul Concert at the Concord Pavilion in Concord, California.

The 30th Annual Capital Jazz Fest Is Set For June 2nd – 4th

Capital Jazz Fest, one of the premier black music events in the U.S., is now in its 30th year. The 2023 staging is all set for June 2nd through the 4th at the Merriweather Post Pavilion in Columbia, Maryland. It will feature over 30 live acts in three days!

Patrons will be treated to contemporary jazz, R&B, and soul music from both established and emerging performers. The lineup includes: Fantasia, Joe, Kevin Ross, George BEnson, Corinne Bailey Rae, Robert Glasper, Kandace Springs, Jamison Ross, Johnny Britt, Ne-Yo, Stokley, Kenny Lattimore, Lyfe Jennings, Conya Doss and many more.

Miguel, Davido & Others For Juneteenth Celebration In L.A.

Live Nation Urban is partnering with Jesse Collins Entertainment on the production of the 2nd annual Juneteenth Celebration. Broadcasting live on CNN, the event will be held at The Greek Theatre – 2700 N. Vermont Avenue – in Los Angeles, California, on Monday, June 19th. Starting time is 8pm ET.

This year they are featuring a wide array of performers, namely: Miguel, Davido, Kirk Franklin, Jodeci, SWV, Coi Leray and more. The show’s musical directors are Questlove and Adam Blackstone. Get tickets here.

Dates & Locations For Jodeci’s “Summer Block Party Tour” Announced (@jodeci)

For those not in the know, R&B quartet Jodeci – with members DeVanté Swing, Mr. Dalvin, K-Ci, and JoJo – are back together, and will be going on tour to boot. The Summer Block Party Tour, which will be supported by SWV and Dru Hill, was announced in early April.

Two weeks ago the men followed up by sharing all confirmed dates and locations via their social media platform. See below.

7/28 Charlotte, NC – PNC Music Pavilion
7/29 Baltimore, MD – CFG Bank Arena
7/30 Greensboro, NC – White Oak Amphitheater at Greensboro Coliseum Complex
8/4 Brooklyn, NY – Coney Island Amphitheater
8/5 Bridgeport, CT – Hartford Healthcare Amphitheater
8/6 Philadelphia, PA – The Mann Center
8/10 Detroit, MI – Aretha Franklin Amphitheater
8/11 Chicago, IL – Arie Crown Theater
8/13 Indianapolis, IN – TCU Amphitheater at White River State Park
8/15 St. Louis, MO – Hollywood Casino Amphitheater
8/18 Atlanta, GA – Cadence Bank Amphitheater at Chastain Park
8/19 Birmingham, AL – Oak Mountain Amphitheater
8/20 Nashville, TN – Ascend Amphitheater
8/24 Baton Rouge, LA – Raising Cane’s River Center
8/26 Houston, TX – The Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion presented by Huntsman
8/27 Irving, TX – The Pavilion at Toyota Music Factory
8/31 Denver, CO – Bellco Theatre
9/2 Phoenix, AZ – Talking Stick Resort Amphitheater
9/3 San Diego, CA – North Island Credit Union Amphitheater
9/7 Los Angeles, CA – YouTube Theater
9/8 Concord, CA – Concord Pavilion